Florida is home to over 7.5 million licensed drivers, and a startlingly high number do not carry the mandatory insurance coverage required under state law.
Although state laws can vary regarding transportation, all 50 states require drivers to maintain insurance. Unfortunately, like all laws, some people choose not to follow the state requirements regarding motorist coverage.
Over a fifth of Florida drivers are uninsured
Although it is illegal, there are many uninsured motors on the road. Ranking sixth in the country for its uninsured drivers, Florida is home to approximately 20.4 percent of its population, or 1,559,656 Floridians, behind the wheel without insurance. According to the law, drivers can face license and registration suspension for up to 3 years unless they can provide proof of insurance by their traffic ticket’s deadline.
However, if an uninsured motorist hits you or a loved one, the punishments may come as a small comfort compared to the damages you’re facing with no clear way to get them covered.
You have options if an uninsured driver hits you
Considering the statistics, worrying about an uninsured motorist hitting your vehicle is reasonable. The good news is that you have options if it does occur. Getting into a car accident with an uninsured driver would typically lead you to file an uninsured insurance claim. Because Florida is a no-fault state for automobile insurance, you would make the claim with your insurance company regardless of whether the other driver is insured.
Vehicle collisions with uninsured drivers happen. If one happens to you, options are available to help you restore your losses. Do not let another driver’s negligence negatively affect your life more than necessary.